“Can’t take my eyes off you”.


In today’s Intermedio 1 classes, we learnt the expression “take one’s eyes off something”, which means “apartar la vista de algo”. I mentioned a famous song as an example. It’s called “Can’t take my eyes off you”. Below you have a video of the song on-screen lyrics. It’s a version by Gloria Gaynor, though there are many others. As an optional piece of homework, you can translate the lyrics into Spanish and hand in the translation to me. Here is the lyrics:

“You’re just too good to be true.
Can’t take my eyes off of you.
You’d be like heaven to touch.
I wanna hold you so much.
At long last love has arrived.
And I thank God I’m alive.
You’re just too good to be true
Can’t take my eyes off of you.

Pardon the way that I stare.
There’s nothing else to compare.
The sight of you leaves me weak.
There are no words left to speak.
But if you feel like I feel.
Please let me know that it’s real.
You’re just too good to be true.
Can’t take my eyes off of you.

I love you baby and if it’s quite all right
I need you baby to warm the lonely nights.
I love you baby, trust in me when I say
Oh pretty baby, don’t bring me down, I pray.
Oh pretty baby, now that I’ve found you, stay.
And let me love you baby, let me love you.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Can’t take my eyes off you”.

  1. Jose Antonio says:

    There is a good version of this song in the film “10 Things I Hate About You”.
    The actor who sings was Heath Ledger (R.I.P)

Leave a Reply

